Di Box

Home Forums Audio Circuits Di Box

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    david1409
    Credits: 0

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new to electronics in general and found your site to be the most informative when it comes to simulations!

My background as a sound engineer has drawn me into this world and I’d really appretiate any help any one can give me. As a small project, I’ve decided to build one of these:

A figured a good place to start would be try and simulate the circuit with LTSpice. Could someone take a look at the asc file I’ve attached and help me with getting this simulation to work?

The challenges I’m having are mainly around adapting the input and output jacks so as to simulate a signal being passed through the circuit as well as simulating the specified transformer and the 48v power supply which would be a voltage source typically originating from a mixing desk.

Thanks in advance!

studio2100
    Participant
    Credits: 29

Hi David,

it seems a very good project. In your schematic there are several mismatches respect to the original project.The transistor Q2 is a PNP, not a NPN, I’ve uploaded the transistors library bjtdibox.lib to add in
    ..LTCLTspiceIVlibsub directory. Inside there are spice models of BC550C and the PNP BC560C.
    I’ve added a directive to include the library in the new .asc file.The DI-box project use a 5:1 transformer,
    this ratio normally refers to turns and then voltages ratio, not to inductances ratio, and in your schematic are reversed. If the turns ratio is 5:1 the inductances ratio must be 25:1, for example L1=250H and L2=10H.
    Now you should be on the right track, let us know about your results and if you like share them with the community.

cheers

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    david1409
    Credits: 0

Wow! thanks for the help and advice.

Ive made some additions to the design now.